Database by Audience

This resource contains more than 2,000 state, regional, and ethnic recipes - including food culture articles - as well as historical and reference articles including an ingredients section. This is the largest food database of its kind focused solely on diverse American cuisine. 

Provides access to over 100,000 various types of maps for the U.S., world countries and continents. A to Z Maps Online contains a large number of specialized maps like antique maps, bathymetric and fishing maps, climate change maps, environmental maps, geography and geology maps, Holy Land maps, tree and bird distribution maps, and more. It also contains flags from world countries and international organizations.

This database contains state, county and city information for all U.S. states and territories. It lists facts and statistics about arts and culture, climate and weather, demographics, flags and seals, government and politics, history, maps, photos, and more.

This resource contains 7,000 traditional recipes from 174 countries, along with thousands of ingredient, food culture, and reference articles, making this the largest food database of its kind. 

Contains travel guides for over 200 world cities. Each guide contains helpful information about a particular city's food and restaurants, climate and weather, embassies/consulates, health and medical services, travel essentials, money and banking, electrical and telecommunication requirements, and more.

Search tens of millions of U.S. and international newspapers whose coverage goes back more than 400 years.

Explore and stay informed on local, national, and international topics, people, and events in areas such as business, health, education, jobs and careers, political and social issues and more. Features a wide variety of credible, vetted news sources spanning the world, including The Oklahoman and Tulsa World.

Previously known as America's News. Now includes international news sources.

Learn foundational, career-enhancing skills by using the expert writing lab, study tools and more. The Adult Learning Center offers test preparation (including the GED and the USCIS citizenship test) and a unique academic skills center featuring live, online tutors.

Search historical records for African Americans that include the Federal Census, Marriage and Cohabitation Records, Military Draft and Service Records, Registers of Slaves and Free(d) Persons of Color, Freedman's Bank, and more.

Search hundreds of African American newspapers from across the United States published during the 19th and 20th centuries.

This is a searchable collection of early American newspapers from 1690-1999.

A Guide to the Year's Major Legal Cases and Developments including updates with expanded content with new topics, updates, biographies of prominent figures and government appointees, and other features. Each year's edition contains the full U.S. Supreme Court docket in addition to the non-Supreme Court cases.

Search billions of historical records covering hundreds of years of family trees, photographs, census records, birth, marriage and death records, military records, city directories, immigration and travel records, newspapers, and more.

In library use only.

The Archives of Sexuality and Gender is the largest collection available in support of the study of gender and sexuality, enables scholars to make new connections in LGBTQ history and activism, cultural studies, psychology, health, political science, policy studies, and other related areas of research.

Formerly known as AutoMate, Auto Repair Source provides step-by-step repair instructions, service bulletins, recall information, wiring diagrams, maintenance tips, and other information for foreign and domestic cars from 1974-present. All of the content in Auto Repair Source has been created by ASE certified technicians. 

Provides access to biographies, images, articles, abstracts, and interviews of more than half a million people. This resource is provided by the Oklahoma Department of Libraries.

BlueCareer by EBSCOlearning is a software platform that allows Job Seekers to easily explore the skilled trades and ultimately connects them with Employers. BlueCareer has a robust level of information, assessments, and training materials for over 100 skilled trades specialties in one easy to use platform. Whether someone has years of experience in the trades or is simply curious to learn more, BlueCareer has something for everyone.

Contains over 100,000 reviews of books and digital media for librarians, book groups and book lovers.

Books in Print lists the bibliographic information (title, author, pages, volumes, editions, year of publication, etc.) for millions of titles that are out-of-print, in-print or forthcoming.

A version of Encyclopedia Britannica that is designed for older students and adults.

A resource to help small businesses access the services they need to grow. Find resources to grow your business, learn about taxes and credits, learn about new health care changes, seek disaster assistance, and more.

Provides full-text archives to the country’s premier African American newspaper, the Chicago Defender (1905-1975).

Access Chicago Tribune current and past articles back to 1985.

From the Library of Congress, Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers allows you to search millions of pages of America's historic newspapers from 1789-1963.

Provides information on the history of science through biographies on the lives and careers of great scientists. All periods of science from classical antiquity to modern times are represented.

Offering a comprehensive search on computing, technology, and engineering topics. This resource is provided by the Oklahoma Department of Libraries.

Designed to support the information needs of patients, Consumer Health Complete provides access to easily understandable health and medical information. You can search and browse medical encyclopedias, reference books, fact sheets and pamphlets, magazine articles, and more. This resource is provided by the Oklahoma Department of Libraries.

Access the latest reviews and ratings of cars, appliances, electronics, home and garden equipment, products for babies and kids and more from Consumer Reports. 

Containing more than 55 biographies per volume, the entries in this reference source cover well-known and respected multi-national black educators, writers, business people, athletes, military leaders and many others. Digital content starts at volume 148.

Creativebug is an on-demand arts and crafts instructional resource with over 1,000 high-quality videos taught by expert artists and makers. It includes classes and videos on drawing, painting, sewing, knitting, crochet, quilting, baking, and more.

Contains state and country profiles, graphs and tables, photos, biographical articles, and unique information like recipes from around the world. There is a version of this database just for kids and a version for everyone else.

Create professional resumes, cover letters and reference lists in minutes by simply entering basic information about yourself.

Simultaneously search some or all of the databases provided by EBSCOhost: Academic Search Premier, Bibliography of Native North Americans, Biography Reference Bank, Business Source Premier, Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia, GreenFILE, Health Source, Military & Government Collection, Newspaper Source Plus, and more. This resource is provided by the Oklahoma Department of Libraries.

Comprehensive source of detailed information concerning nonprofit membership organizations nationally and internationally. Covers organizations in categories such as trade, business, and commercial; legal, governmental, public administration, and military; cultural; educational; veterans, hereditary, and patriotic; athletic and sports; fan clubs, and many more. Also contains the National Directory of Nonprofit Organizations.

Contains information previously found in Associations Unlimited database.

The Educational Resource Information Center provides access to literature and resources about the field of education. This resource is provided by the Oklahoma Department of Libraries.

Explora for Public Libraries allows you to search multiple EBSCO databases for information about arts and literature, business and careers, consumer health, current events, geography and culture, and more. For educators, it also includes lesson plans, professional development materials, and a Curriculum Standards Module.

Students planning to attend college or career school can learn about and apply for grants, loans and work-study funds.

Fun and gamified coding lessons for kids.

Metro Library provides free access to Fiero Code, a self-paced learn-to-code software program for kids ages 8-18. Through fun and engaging tutorials and projects, Fiero Code teaches kids coding languages - such as HTML, Python and JavaScript - that they can use to build their own websites, video games, apps and more. Fiero Code also includes a portfolio feature for coders to display their work, and a "Share with Parents" feature for them to share their projects with family and friends.

The Film Scripts Online Series contains over 1,100 scripts and makes available, for the first time, accurate and authorized versions of copyrighted screenplays. Now film lovers and scholars can compare the writer’s vision with the producer’s and director’s interpretations from page to screen.

Provides access to historic U.S. military records, including the stories, photos and personal documents of the men and women who served. You can also search archives for African Americans, Native Americans and the U.S. Bureau of Investigation case files, historical newspapers, historical documents, U.S. Census records, U.S. naturalization records, and city directories.

A virtual bookshelf containing digital copies of reference titles covering a range of subjects including biographies, business, education, multicultural studies, and science.

Provides information for nearly 200 countries on topics such as business culture, climate, demographics, electrical (plugs and sockets), embassies/consulates, food and recipes, health and medical, language, money, telecommunications, travel essentials, and more.

Provides bibliographic information (title, author(s), year, etc.) for U.S. government documents published by the GPO since July 1976 and includes and a list of libraries that own the documents. Coverage includes all types of U.S. government documents such as Congressional reports, hearings, debates, and records, judiciary materials, and documents issued by executive departments (Defense, State, Labor, Office of the President, etc.).

Contains well-researched information covering the relationship between human beings and the environment. GreenFILE's collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes coverage on topics like climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. This resource is provided by the Oklahoma Department of Libraries.

Provides the full text of many consumer health magazines (including Better Nutrition, Harvard Health Letter, Men's Health, Muscle & Fitness, Prevention, Vegetarian Times, and others), health-related pamphlets and health reference books. This resource is provided by the Oklahoma Department of Libraries.

Provides over 500 scholarly full-text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Coverage of nursing and allied health is particularly strong, including full text from Issues in Comprehensive Pediatric Nursing, Issues in Mental Health Nursing, Journal of Advanced Nursing, Journal of Child & Adolescent Psychiatric Nursing, Journal of Clinical Nursing, Journal of Community Health Nursing, Journal of Nursing Management, Nursing Ethics, Nursing Forum, Nursing Inquiry, and more. This resource is provided by the Oklahoma Department of Libraries.

Explore your family history with the premier collection of U.S. obituaries and death notices for in-depth genealogical research from 1704 to today. HeritageHub helps you easily identify relatives, uncover new information and potentially unknown family members. Includes deep coverage from all 50 states, hard-to-find content from the mid 1900’s, and original obituary images.

Looking for America's Obituaries & Death Notices? Try this database instead!

Contains U.S. Federal Census images (1790-1950), map guide to the Federal Censuses (1790-1920), U.S. Indian Census Rolls (1885-1940), slave schedules for the 1850 and 1860 U.S. Federal Census, genealogy and local history books, city directories, pension and bounty land warrant applications from the Revolutionary War, Freedman's Bank Records (1865-1874), and the U.S. Serials Set (1789-present) which records the memorials, petitions and private relief actions made to the U.S. Congress.

Provides full-text access to the archives of Chicago Defender (1909-1975), St. Louis Post Dispatch (1874-1922), The Jewish Exponent (1887-1990), Los Angeles Times (1881-1994), The New York Times (1851-2014), and The Washington Post (1877-2001).

Access data on the quantitative facts of American history. Coverage of subject areas includes social, behavioral, humanistic, and natural sciences including history, economics, government, finance, sociology, demography, education, law, natural resources, climate, religion, international migration, and trade.

HistoryGeo allows you to search antique maps and atlases and it displays original landowners of the continental United States according to state and federal records. HistoryGeo provides a single, interactive map containing over 9 million landowners across 21 states. This will be an invaluable tool for your historical and genealogical research.

Offers detailed how-to instructions and creative ideas to meet the interests of virtually every hobby enthusiast. Full text is provided from leading hobby and craft magazines, including Bead & Button, Creative Knitting, FineScale Modeler, Quilter's World, and more. This resource is provided by the Oklahoma Department of Libraries.

Provides detailed, user-friendly “how-to” information covering a variety of home improvement and repair projects. This resource is provided by the Oklahoma Department of Libraries.

Research the political, social, and cultural history of Indigenous Peoples in the United States and Canada from the 16th century until well into the 20th century. Explore the impact of invasion and colonization on Indigenous Peoples in North America, and the intersection of Indigenous and European histories and systems of knowledge through the use of manuscripts, monographs, newspapers, photographs, motion pictures, images of artwork, and more.

Provides full-text access to the archives of The Jewish Exponent (1887-1990).

This job-hunting platform has everything job seekers need to create professional and competitive resumes and cover letters, search for jobs that fit their needs, give professional interviews and more.

JobNow features job and career resources such as chatting with a live job coaching expert, resume and cover letter templates, interview tips, expert resume review, and more. This resource is provided by the Oklahoma Department of Libraries. 

Online access to Oklahoma’s daily business and legal news source, The Journal Record. Coverage includes daily news as well as the paper’s archives.

In library use only.

LearningExpress Library contains study guides and practice tests to help you prepare for career- and school-related tests (GED, ACT, SAT, ASVAB, CDL, NCLEX-RN, etc), job and career resources to help you search for a job, write a resume, and guide you through the interview process, and self-paced tutorials for computer and internet basics.

A collection of the most respected scholarly law journals with information on current issues, studies, thoughts, and trends of the legal world. This resource is provided by the Oklahoma Department of Libraries.

Access federal and Oklahoma-specific legal forms for business, personal, official, real estate, litigation, and general needs. Oklahoma legal forms are provided by participating attorneys, form companies or were specifically adapted for Oklahoma.

Designed to assist the general public on legal matters, this resource provides consumer legal reference books, as well as thousands of legal forms. This resource is provided by the Oklahoma Department of Libraries.

This database indexes hundreds of journals that cover librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management, and more. Coverage extends back to the mid-1960s. This resource is provided by the Oklahoma Department of Libraries.

LinkedIn learning contains over 16,000 self-paced online courses in 7 different languages that you can use to learn more about business, CAD, design, education, hardware and software, technology, video, web design and much more. This resource will help you achieve your personal and professional goals. NOTE: To sign in, use your last name as your Library Card PIN.

Previously known as Lynda.com

Access Los Angeles Times current and past articles back to 1985.

Learn one of over 70 languages, including over a dozen ESL courses, using real-life situations and conversations with Mango. This program is self-paced and helps you to learn by first listening to, and then repeating, words and phrases.

MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, preclinical sciences, and more. This resource is provided by the Oklahoma Department of Libraries.

Contains information on tens of thousands of US and foreign public companies like history, business description, properties, subsidiaries, officers, directors, address, telephone number, Moody's rating, capital stock, income statement, balance sheet, statements of cash flow, exchange and ticker symbol, number of employees, number of shareholders, stock splits, and more.

This database offers current news through a collection of magazines, academic journals and other content pertinent to all branches of the military and government. Publications include Air Force Comptroller, Combat Edge, Defence Studies, FBI Law Enforcement Bulletin, Foreign Affairs, JFQ: Joint Force Quarterly. This resource is provided by the Oklahoma Department of Libraries.

With Mitchell ProDemand, you can search for and print wiring diagrams, schematics, diagnostic trouble codes and technical service bulletins, estimate the cost of labor and parts for a repair, learn about scheduled maintenance, read about recalls and more for foreign and domestic cars from 1960-present.

In library use only.

Provides real-time access to comprehensive data and independent analysis on thousands of mutual funds, stocks, exchange-traded funds, and closed-end funds.

MyHeritage Library Edition includes birth, death, and marriage records from 48 countries, the complete U.S. and U.K. censuses, immigration, military, and tombstone records and more than 3 billion family tree profiles.

Available at the library or remotely.

This collection is a complete archive of National Geographic magazine - every page of every issue - along with a cross-searchable collection of National Geographic books, maps, images, and videos and the PAWS (People, Animals, and the World) database.

To bypass the paywall, simply register for a free account at NYTimes.com. NYT News, Cooking, The Athlete and Wire Cutter now available. For full coverage of the Times from 1851-2012, visit our Historical Newspapers database. For 24-hour remote access to NYTimes.com, visit metrolibrary.org/newyorktimes.

Enjoy current and past articles (back to 1980) from The New York Times at home or on the go. Visit Historical Newspapers to access articles from The New York Times dating back to 1851. For 24-hour remote access to NYTimes.com, visit metrolibrary.org/newyorktimes.

Dating from the early 1700s into the 2000s, Newspapers.com Library Edition contains full runs and portions of runs of well-known, regional and state titles to small local newspapers in the United States and other countries. This is a great resource for genealogists looking for information on their family history.

Provides suggested reads or listens across many genres (and for all ages) based on previous books read or listened to or based on title, author, series, or narrator.

Ok2Explore is a free searchable index of births and deaths that occurred in the state of Oklahoma. Included is limited information on births occurring more than 20 years ago and deaths occurring more than 5 years ago. You may search the index using any combination of the subject’s name, date of event (birth or death), county of event, and sex.

Take practice tests for obtaining a driving permit, a motorcycle license or a commercial driver's license (CDL) in Oklahoma, get access the official driver's manual for each license, and search an FAQ with answers to over 100 questions about an Oklahoma driver's license.

Provides full-text access to dozens of local, statewide, and college/university newspapers and transcripts from television stations across Oklahoma. Includes full-text and image editions of The Oklahoman and Tulsa World, including today’s full-color, digital edition of The Oklahoman.

NOTE: Newsbank is currently experiencing internal technical issues. New issues for July 2024 will be loaded as soon as possible. 

Formerly known as Oklahoman Collection from NewsBank, this resource provides full-text access to The Oklahoman from 1901-present that is easy to browse, search, print, and share. The full-color daily edition is available along with web-only content and blog posts.

The Outlook is the oldest continuously-published U.S. investment newsletter. The newsletter uses Standard and Poor’s STARS performance indicators to provide timely, proven guidance on market behavior.

Oxford Art Online offers access to the most authoritative, inclusive, and easily searchable online art resources available today including Grove Dictionary of Art and Benezit Dictionary of Artists. Includes over 200,000 articles that span ancient to contemporary art and architecture, as well as over 19,000 images of works of art, structures, plans, and artist signatures.

The OED provides the meaning, history and pronunciation of hundreds of thousands of words— past and present—from across the English-speaking world. Discover how English words have changed over time with the historical dictionary and thesaurus and browse OED entries by subject, usage, region, and origin.

Provides a historically rich collection of full-text classic and contemporary poems, as well as short stories, biographies and authoritative essays on poetic forms, movements, techniques and more; includes contemporary content from the finest publishers.

PressReader is the best place to read thousands of newspapers and magazines from around the globe. 

Previously known as ReferenceUSA

Contains directory information for millions of new, current and historical U.S. businesses and U.S. residents and it contains a listing of U.S. jobs and internships. Directory information on businesses includes the name of a business, its address, telephone number, headquarters, ticker symbol, credit rating, number of employees, estimated sales volume, and more. Business owners can use Reference Solutions to conduct market research and create maps and charts of similar businesses in the area.

Provides full-text coverage of business publications, on a regional level, for the United States and Canadian provinces. Content includes newspapers, radio and tv news transcripts, trade publications, magazines, and newswires. This resource is provided by the Oklahoma Department of Libraries.

Created to assist fire insurance companies as they assessed the risk associated with insuring a particular property, Sanborn Maps provide information on more than 12,000 American towns and cities. Maps for Oklahoma cities go back to 1894. These maps includes details such as the outline of each building, the size, shape and construction materials, heights and function of structures, location of windows and doors, street names, street and sidewalk widths, property boundaries, building use, and house and block numbers.

Provides comprehensive information on sources of education-related financial aid sponsored and administered by private organizations and companies.

A sign language video dictionary and learning resource that contains American Sign Language (ASL) signs, fingerspelled words, and other common signs.

Visit the SkillSurfer Learning Library to read lessons, watch videos, and take practice tests on a variety of subjects. Get ready to apply for college, brush up on Microsoft Office skills, learn about different careers, and study for the GED, SAT, ACT, AP, CLEP, GRE, GMAT, ASVAB, Praxis, or TOEFL.

A comprehensive resource for small business owners and those interested in starting a business, Small Business Reference Center offers full-text coverage of magazines, journals, trade publications, and industry reports. It also offers a start-up kit and sample business plans, U.S. tax forms, state-specific resources, videos, and reference books. This resource is provided by the Oklahoma Department of Libraries.

This sourcebook covers over 300 specific small business profiles, as well as, covering general small business topics: business programs, federal support, and other issues.

Contains the full text of hundreds of reference books and the full collection of Clymer repair manuals for performing routine maintenance and extensive repairs for all terrain vehicles, chain saws, generators, marine/boat motors, motorcycles, outdoor power equipment, personal water craft, snowmobiles, tractors, and more. This resource is provided by the Oklahoma Department of Libraries.

Provides a trusted source of sociology literature, making it an essential tool for sociology and social work researchers, professionals, and students. This resource is provided by the Oklahoma Department of Libraries.

Provides access to the Documents and Rare Printed Materials archives of the Wiener Library in London, the first archive to collect evidence of the Holocaust and the anti-Semitic activities of the Nazi Party during World War II. It contains thousands of eyewitness accounts, photographs, propaganda materials, Wiener Library publications, and biographical details of major figures in the Nazi Party.

U.S. History in Context provides a complete overview of our nation’s past that covers the most-studied events, decades, conflicts, wars, political and cultural movements, and people. Information is provided on topics ranging from the arrival of Vikings in North America, to the stirrings of the American Revolution, through to the Civil Rights movement, 9/11, and the War on Terror.

US Major Dailies provides access to the five most respected US national and regional newspapers: the New York Times, The Washington Post, Wall Street Journal, Los Angeles Times and Chicago Tribune.

This is the U.S. government's official web portal, designed to makes it easy for the public to get U.S. government information and services on the web. Find information about benefits, grants and loans, jobs, training and education, passports and travel, immigration, citizenship and international travel, mortgages, housing and family, and more

Provides comprehensive information and expert investing advice on thousands of stocks, mutual funds, options, and other securities.

We are currently experiencing technical difficulties with access to this database. Please check back later.

VetNow has resources carefully tailored to veterans transitioning to the civilian workforce. Visit VetNow for live help navigating veterans’ benefits, resume building, job coaching, and skills building. This resource is provided by the Oklahoma Department of Libraries.

Access The Wall Street Journal current and past articles back to 1984.

For 3-day remote access to wsj.com, visit metrolibrary.org/wallstreetjournal.

Search articles from The Washington Post back to 1987.

To search articles older than 1987 see our Historical Newspapers database.

For 7-day remote access to washingtonpost.com, visit metrolibrary.org/washingtonpost.

This is a catalog of books and other materials held in libraries around the world. If we don't own a title that you want, you can use WorldCat to find a library that owns the title in order to place an interlibrary loan request.